Weinman Foundation Fund

Generous and forward thinking philanthropists, Barry & Virginia Weinman, provide funds to the University of Hawaiʻi Cancer Center for several purposes, all directed towards advancing innovations in cancer research. They created an endowment to bring to Hawaiʻi some of the best cancer researchers to work collaboratively in our research laboratories with our scientists.

Their funds also support the Weinman Symposium, which is held once a year, and a weekly/bi-weekly lecture series whereby prominent researchers deliver a major lecture at the Cancer Center. Among the prominent scientists brought to the UH Cancer Center thanks to the Weinman funds are Nobel laureates Harald zur Hausen, Baruch Blumberg, Elizabeth Blackburn, Bruce Beutler, and Jules Hoffmann.

Thus, the Weinman endowment provides an extraordinary opportunity for our faculty, students and staff, to meet and interact with some of the most prominent scientists. The work of these scientists has saved many lives and established extensive research collaborations. In addition, the Weinman funds also provide grant awards to Cancer Center faculty members pursuing innovative translational cancer research.

In Memoriam: Virginia Weinman

Weinman Symposium

The Weinman Symposium is supported by the generosity of the Weinman Foundation. In 2010, Barry and Virginia Weinman of Honolulu created the Weinman Foundation Fund for Innovation at the UH Cancer Center. This fund makes it possible for the Center to invite prominent leaders in cancer research to Hawaiʻi every year. These globally‐recognized experts are selected for their work in cancer research and its successful translation into therapy and care. While here, they work with the Cancer Center and establish research collaborations with the faculty.

Weinman Award Recipients

Peter K. Vogt, PhD photo
Peter K. Vogt, PhD

Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, California

Hans Clevers, PhD photo
Hans Clevers, PhD

University of Utrecht
Eindhoven, Neitherlands

Napoleone Ferrara, MD photo
Napoleone Ferrara, MD

UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center
San Diego, California

James Cleaver, PhD photo
James E. Cleaver, PhD

University of California San Francisco
San Francisco, California

Lewis Cantley, PhD
Lewis Cantley, PhD

Sandra and Edward Meyer Cancer Center
New York, New York

Tak Mak, PhD
Tak Mak, PhD

Princess Margaret Cancer Center
Toronto, Canada

Craig Thompson, MD
Craig Thompson, MD

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York

Webster Cavenee, PhD
Webster Cavenee, PhD
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
San Diego, California

Phillip Allen Sharp, PhD
Phillip Allen Sharp, PhD
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, Massachusetts

Randy W. Shekman, PhD photo
Randy W. Shekman, PhD
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, California

Mary-Claire King, PhD photo
Mary-Claire King, PhD
The University of Washington
Seattle, Washington

Bruce A. Beautler, MD photo
Bruce A. Beutler, MD
2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine
UT Southwestern Medical Center

Jules A. Hoffmann, PhD photo
Jules A. Hoffmann, PhD
2011 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine
University of Strasbourg

Elizabeth H. Blackburn, PhD photo
Elizabeth H. Blackburn, PhD
2009 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine
University of California, San Francisco

Waun Ki Hong, MD photo
Waun Ki Hong, MD
Elected Member of Institute of Medicine
of the National Academies
MD Anderson Cancer Center
The University of Texas

Carlo M. Croce, MD photo
Carlo M. Croce, MD
The Ohio State University
James Cancer Center

Baruch S. Blumberg MD, PhD photo
Baruch S. Blumberg, MD, PhD
1976 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine
Fox Chase Cancer Center, Philadelphia

Harald Zur Hausen, MD photo
Harald Zur Hausen, MD
2008 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine
Professor Emeritus
German Cancer Research Center